Patrons & Program Committee


Patricia Espinosa
Executive Secretary of United Nations Climate Change
Ashok Sridharan
Lord Mayor of the Federal City of Bonn, Germany; ICLEI First Vice President and Special Messenger to UNFCCC and carbonn Registry
Mami Mizutori
Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Disaster Risk Reduction
Norbert Barthle
Parliamentary State Secretary to the German Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development

Program Committee

The Program Committee for the Resilient Cities congress is composed of experts from partner organizations centrally involved in the theme of climate change adaptation and local governments from various continents. Program Committee members provide advice on Congress themes and proposed presentations, and have an advisory role in the review process of the Call for Contributions.
Anthony Socci
Senior Lead on International Resilience & Adaptation Policy, US Environmental Protection Agency, Washington DC, USA
Carmen Vogt
Project Manager “Sustainable Development of Metropolitan Regions”, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Eschborn, Germany

(Photo Credit: European Union/European Commission)

Carrie Mitchell
Assistant Professor at School of Planning, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada

(Photo Credit: Twitter)

Cynthia Rosenzweig
Senior Research Scientist and Head of the Climate Impacts Group, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies; Co-Director, Urban Climate Change Research Network, Columbia University, New York, USA
David Dodman
Director of Human Settlements Group, International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED), London, UK
David Jácome Polit
Chief Resilience Officer, Quito, Ecuador

(Photo Credit: Twitter)

Freddie Aucamp
Divisional Head of Environmental Strategic Planning, City of Ekurhuleni, South Africa

(Photo Credit: City of Ekurhuleni Twitter)

Jason Hartke
Supervisory Program Manager of Commercial Buildings Integration, U.S. Department of Energy, Washington DC, USA

(Photo Credit: Twitter)

Jiahua Pan
Director of Institute for Urban & Environmental Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), Beijing, China
Josef Leitmann
Team Leader of Resilient Recovery and Urban Resilience, Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery, The World Bank, Washington DC, USA
Katharina Schneider-Roos
CEO, Global Infrastructure Basel Foundation (GIB), Basel, Switzerland
Koko Warner
Manager of Impacts, Vulnerabilities and Risks Subprogramme, Adaptation Programme, United Nations Climate Change Secretariat (UNFCCC), Bonn, Germany

(Photo Credit: UN System Staff College)

Lykke Leonardsen
Head of program for Resilient and Sustainable City Solutions, City of Copenhagen, Denmark
Matthias Garschagen
Head of Vulnerability Assessment, Risk Management and Adaptive Planning, Institute for Environment and Human Security, United Nations University, Bonn, Germany
Nicola Tollin
Executive Director of RESURBE International Program on Urban Resilience, Recycling Cities Network (RECNET), Barcelona, Spain. Professor (MSO) of Urban Resilience, University of Southern Denmark (SDU), Odense, Denmark

(Photo Credit: Twitter)

Robert Kehew
Unit Leader Climate Change Planning Unit, Urban Planning and Design Branch, United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-Habitat, Nairobi, Kenya
Sanjaya Bhatia
Head of Office for Northeast Asia and Global Education and Training Institute, United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR ONEA-GETI), Incheon, South Korea

(Photo Credit: Cifal Newcastle Twitter)

Vhalinavho Khavhagali
Biodiversity and Climate Change Adaptation Specialist and Executive Committee Member of the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage at UN Climate Change, South Africa

(Photo Credit: Linkedin)

Violeta Somera Seva
Senior Advisor to the Mayor, Makati City, Philippines



Back to Top








CityTalk blog